AfREC hosts winner of Women in Leadership award

The inaugural WA African Community Awards Gala Night were held on 1 September at the Novotel Langley to conclude Australia’s annual Africa Week in Perth. The Awards were convened by the Organisation of African Communities of WA (OAC) under the theme of “Building a Vibrant, Resilient and Strong African Community”.

The University of Western Australia (UWA) sponsored the Women in Leadership Award, which “recognises an outstanding woman in leadership, a woman who has contributed positively to promoting women, communities or group development in WA’s African Australian community. The award acknowledges high level innovation, creativity, entrepreneurship and a commitment to creating transformative change at a grass roots community level or beyond.” The Award was won by Ms Bouah Kardio (right), Co-Founder of the Courageous Women Multicultural Network, Vice Chairperson of the Liberian Community Association of WA and a mental health recovery expert with Richmond Wellbeing.

AfREC Industry Coordinator Dr Muza Gondwe, who presented the Award to Ms Kardio on behalf of UWA, highlighted the University’s ongoing commitment to promoting diversity and gender equality through schemes such as Athena SWAN and through the work of Fadzi Whande, UWA Manager of Inclusion and Diversity. Dr Mickler (AfREC Director) reiterated that AfREC has a “strong focus on engagement with African-Australian communities and is currently finalising an application with OAC for a UWA Community Partnership Program, which would include co-designing and delivering a leadership training program for women in African- Australian communities.”

On 15 October 2018, AfREC was honoured to host Ms Kardio and her team from the Courageous Women Multicultural Network over lunch. The lunch signalled the beginning of ongoing engagement between AfREC and courageous in the community. It also highlighted UWA's ongoing commitment to supporting women's leadership.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square